Weather Forecast


Emmer endorses Lewis in 2nd District battle

New candidate filings for local elected offices in recent days include: Jason Lewis of Woodbury, Minnesota Congressional District 2; U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum of St. Paul and Greg Ryan of Roseville, Congressional District 4; state Sen. Susan Kent, DFL-Woodbury, in Minnesota Senate District 53; Cheryl Anderson of Birchwood in Washington County Commissioner District 2; and George C. Weyer of Woodbury and Wendy Griffin of Lake Elmo, soil and water conservation district board.

Minnesota State Rep. Tom Emmer is backing Woodbury Republican Jason Lewis to succeed Rep. John Kline in Minnesota's 2nd Congressional District.

Lewis is competing against former lawmaker John Howe and businesswoman Darlene Miller in the Aug. 9 primary. Lewis won the party's endorsement, but Miller got Kline's backing in March. Howe had not filed for election as of Thursday, May 26.

The winner of the Aug. 9 primary will face former health care executive Angie Craig, the presumptive Democratic nominee, in the November general election.

In a statement released by the Lewis campaign, Emmer said Lewis was the "strongest conservative" in the race.

Lewis has campaigned as a straight-talking conservative capable of taking the fight to Craig and Democrats. But Howe, Miller and some other Republicans say controversial comments Lewis has made on his radio show and in books about women, slavery and other issues are offensive and will hurt him against Craig.

Lewis' campaign address is in Cottage Grove.

Ryan joins Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey of Woodbury as Republicans vying to oppose McCollum in Congressional District 4, which includes Woodbury.

The County Commissioner District 2 race has a full field, including former commissioner Bill Pulkrabek, who announced his campaign but had not yet filed as of May 26.

The filing period includes county, state and federal elections, and candidates are lining up.

How the races are shaping up:

• Bey, McCollum and Ryan have filed in U.S. Congressional District 4.

• Craig of Eagan, Lewis and Miller of Prior Lake have filed in Congressional District 2.

• Kent is the only candidate to have filed in Minnesota Senate District 53. Sharna Wahlgren is the endorsed Republican candidate, but she had not yet filed for office as of May 26.

• Kelly Fenton of Woodbury and Alberder Gillespie of Woodbury have filed in Minnesota House of Representatives District 53B.

• Andy Turonie of Maplewood and JoAnn Ward of Woodbury has filed in House District 53A.

• Lisa Weik of Woodbury has filed in Washington County Commissioner District 5.

• Gary Kriesel of Stillwater has filed in Commissioner District 3.

• Anderson, Joseph T. Delaney of Oakdale, Stan Karwoski of Oakdale, John W. McPhillips of Oakdale and Jeremy Olson of Woodbury have filed in Commissioner District 2.

• Fran Miron of Hugo has filed for a seat in Commissioner District 1.

• In judicial races, John C. Hoffman, Gary R. Schurrer, John R. McBride and Mary Hannon filed for re-election in Washington County District Court.

• Diane M. Blake of Woodbury, Thorton Ridder of Woodbury and George C. Weyer of Woodbury (District 5), Wendy Griffin of Lake Elmo and John Rheinberger of Stillwater (District 3) and Bob Rosenquist of Hugo (District 1) filed for soil and water conservation district board.

The filing period ends at 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 31, after press deadlines for the Woodbury Bulletin.

The filing period for Afton and Woodbury city elections and districts 622 and 834, none of which have primary races, is Aug. 2-16.

On the ballot will be the Afton mayoral seat and two spots on the Afton City Council, as well as two spots on the Woodbury City Council.

School Board seats are on the ballot in District 622 (four seats) and District 834 (three seats) will on the ballot this November. District 833 holds odd-year elections for School Board.

For more information on candidate filing, go to

St. Paul Pioneer Press, a Forum News Service media partner, contributed to this report.