Weather Forecast


UPDATE: Republicans reload for primary in Congressional District 2

Despite being the GOP-endorsed candidate Jason Lewis of Woodbury faces a Republican primary in U.S. Congressional District 2.

Republican Darlene Miller of Prior Lake filed today. DFLer Angela Craig of Eagan filed for office last week.

Whoever wins the District 2 seat to be given up by John Kline will not include Woodbury, but the local race for U.S. Congress will be interesting this year, too.

Last week, Republican Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey of Woodbury filed to run against U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, the incumbent Democrat in Minnesota Congressional District 4, which includes Woodbury.

The filing period for county, state and federal elections is under way, and candidates have begun lining up.

How the races are shaping up:

• Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey of Woodbury has filed in U.S. Congressional District 4.

• Angela Craig has filed in Congressional District 2.

• No one has filed in Minnesota Senate District 53.

• Alberder Gillespie of Woodbury and Kelly Fenton of Woodbury have filed in Minnesota House of Representatives District 53B.

• JoAnn Ward of Woodbury has filed in House District 53A.

• Lisa Weik of Woodbury has filed in Washington County Commissioner District 5.

• Gary Kriesel of Stillwater has filed in Commissioner District 3.

• Joseph T. Delany of Oakdale, Stan Karwoski of Oakdale, John W. McPhillips of Oakdale and Jeremy Olson of Woodbury have filed in Commissioner District 2. Former Commissioner Bill Pulkrabek of Oakdale announced his campaign for the seat, as well.

• Fran Miron of Hugo has filed for a seat in Commissioner District 1.

• In judicial races, John C. Hoffman, Gary R. Schurrer, John R. McBride and Mary Hannon filed for re-election.

• Diane M. Blake of Woodbury and Thorton Ridder of Woodbury (District 5), John Rheinberger of Stillwater (District 3) and Bob Rosenquist of Hugo (District 1) filed for soil and water conservation district board.

The filing period opened May 17 and runs through 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 31.

The filing period for Afton and Woodbury city elections and districts 622 and 834, none of which have primary races, is Aug. 2-16.

On the ballot will be the Afton mayoral seat and two spots on the Afton City Council, as well as two spots on the Woodbury City Council.

School Board seats are on the ballot in District 622 (four seats) and District 834 (three seats) will on the ballot this November. District 833 holds odd-year elections for School Board.

For more information on candidate filing, go to