Weather Forecast


UPDATE: McCollum has a challenger, so does Fenton

Officially, the Washington County Board of Commissioners race is on.

The filing period for county, state and federal elections is under way, and commissioner candidates are lining up.

Incumbents Lisa Weik of Woodbury and Gary Kriesel of Stillwater announced their re-election campaigns last week, then officially threw their hats back in the ring on the first day of candidate filings Tuesday.

Weik represents District 5, including most of Woodbury, and Kriesel represents District 3, which includes Afton among other cities and townships.

Former Commissioner Bill Pulkrabek of Oakdale, who lost to Ted Bearth in a 2012 race in District 2, announced a campaign for the seat he formerly held. Bearth, the chairman of the County Board, died earlier this year. Two Woodbury precincts are located in District 2.

Pulkrabek had not yet filed for office as of late Tuesday, but Stan Karwoski of Oakdale and Jeremy Olson of Woodbury have filed.

Four Washington County commissioner seats will be on the ballot this fall. Fran Miron has filed in District 1. The only Washington County Board seat not on the ballot this fall is District 4, represented by Commissioner Karla Bigham of Cottage Grove, who also represents a portion of Woodbury.

Other races:

• No one has filed yet for Minnesota Senate District 53 nor House of Representatives districts 53A or 53B, although the incumbents and some challengers are expected to run.

• No one has filed in the Minnesota Congressional District 2, where the DFL endorsed Angie Craig and the GOP-endorsed Jason Lewis expects to face challengers in a Republican primary.

• In judicial races, John C. Hoffman, Gary R. Schurrer, John R. McBride and Mary Hannon filed for re-election.

• Bob Rosenquist filed for soil and water conservation district board.

The filing period opened May 17 and runs through 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 31.

The filing period for Afton and Woodbury city elections and districts 622 and 834, none of which have primary races, is Aug. 2-16.

On the ballot will be the Afton mayoral seat and two spots on the Afton City Council, as well as two spots on the Woodbury City Council.

School Board seats are on the ballot in District 622 (four seats) and District 834 (three seats) will on the ballot this November. District 833 holds odd-year elections for School Board.

For more information on candidate filing, go to