Weather Forecast


Local DFL convention attendees endorse Gillespie, plus incumbents

Senate District 53 DFL, which includes the cities of Woodbury and Landfall and parts of Maplewood and Oakdale, held its local convention on Saturday, April 23, at East Ridge High School.

State Sen. Susan Kent, DFL-Woodbury, ran unopposed and was unanimously re-endorsed. Rep. JoAnn Ward, who represents House District 53A, had no challengers and was enthusiastically endorsed.

Kay Hendrikson, Shelly Schafer and Alberder Gillespie were all vying for the DFL endorsement for House Seat 53B. Gillespie was endorsed after two rounds of balloting.

The delegates elected Dennis Ware to be the chairman of Senate District 53 DFL, after chairwoman Debra Anderson Zupke decided to step down. Ann Marie Metzger was elected vice chairwoman. Seven previous executive committee members are returning, along with 12 additional new directors.

Senate District 53 DFL elected a delegation of 18 to send to the Minnesota DFL State Convention on June 4 in Minneapolis. The delegates are Shakira Bradshaw, Teresa Winston, Sean Brown, Anne Pflugi, Ananth Shankar, Larry Wicks, Vivian Latimer-Tanniehill, Justin Farrer, Pat Williamson, Danielle Nitardy, Jaime Katz, Zachary Correia, Ibrahim El-Hedok, Lila Eltawely, Wael Abdelkader, Marquita Stephens, Rihab Shosan and Gregory Strom.

Congressional District 4 Central Committee members were also elected and the delegates approved 36 platform resolutions to send on to the Minnesota DFL State Resolutions Committee.

Senate District 53 DFL is a unit of the Minnesota DFL. The organization of volunteers and activists works "to elect Democrats to all levels of public office, promote progressive values, advocate equality for all people and create strong communities through service, education and empowerment," according to a press release.

To learn more visit or email