Weather Forecast


School board candidates aplenty in Stillwater district

It’s a crowded field for the District 834 School Board election.

A total of eight candidates filed for four Stillwater Area School Board seats – two incumbents and six challengers.

Incumbents Tom Lehmann and George Hoeppner filed for re-election while  current School Board Members Natasha Fleischman and Natalie Fedie opted against another term.

The six challengers in this year’s School Board race are: Donald G. Hovlund, Paul “Woody” Leindecker, Paula O’Loughlin, Shelley Pearson, Fred Anderson and Aly Xiong.

The District 834 School Board election will be Nov. 4. 

Amber Kispert-Smith

Amber Kispert-Smith has been the schools and Afton reporter at the Woodbury Bulletin since 2008. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Minnesota. She previously worked as a reporter for Press Publications in White Bear Lake.

(651) 702-0976