Weather Forecast


No pay raise for County Board; sheriff gets a bump

Washington County commissioners will earn the same salary next year.

County Board members voted Tuesday to keep their salary at $52,713 a year.

Commissioners Myra Peterson of Cottage Grove, Lisa Weik of Woodbury, Gary Kriesel of Stillwater and Dennis Hegberg of Forest Lake supported the measure. Board Chairman Bill Pulkrabek of Oakdale was absent.

Commissioners voted last year to freeze their salary as well. The year prior, the board on a split vote approved a 3.5 percent increase, similar to what county employees received.

In addition to their salary, commissioners have access to county health benefits and are reimbursed for mileage and work-related expenses.

Commissioners on Tuesday also set top county employees' pay for next year. Administrator Jim Schug saw no increase and will earn $150,065.

County Attorney-elect Pete Orput will earn $128,000, down from the $139,755 salary for retiring County Attorney Doug Johnson.

Sheriff Bill Hutton, who was re-elected last month, will earn $130,000, an increase from his 2010 salary of $120,375.

-Scott Wente