Weather Forecast


It'll take a primary to decide Commissioner District 2

Bill Pulkrabek announced and then ended his election bid.

But even without the former Washington County Commissioner from Oakdale on the ballot, it will take a primary election to narrow the field of candidates seeking represent Commissioner District 2.

Six candidates filed in the battleground formerly represented by Ted Bearth. The candidates include Cheryl Anderson of Birchwood, Edward Byrne of Oakdale, Joseph T. Delaney of Oakdale, Stan Karwoski of Oakdale, John W. McPhillips of Oakdale and Jeremy Olson of Woodbury.

Bearth died in March. A special election will fill his seat, but the voting coincides with other races.

Primary elections take place Aug. 9, and the general election is Nov. 8.

"It would be an honor to carry on Ted's legacy of good government, volunteerism and caring for our neighbors," Pulkrabek, who lost the 2012 election to Bearth, said in a press release in early May.

Then Pulkrabek saw the field of candidates, including Oakdale Mayor Karwoski, and Pulkrabek decided to step back and not file for the election. Pulkrabek is not endorsing a candidate.

District 2 includes a portion of Woodbury, but Pulkrabek said "you've got to win Oakdale to win" the seat.

All spots on the county board are on the ballot this year, except Karla Bigham's seat, but it appears she won't be the only returning commissioner next year.

Commissioner Lisa Weik of Woodbury will run unopposed in District 5, which consists of most of Woodbury. Bigham also represents part of Woodbury.

Until last Tuesday, it appeared that all three incumbent commissioners might be running unopposed, but two challengers filed for office after the Woodbury Bulletin's press deadline on the last day to file for the election.

Commissioner Gary Kriesel, whose District 3 includes Afton, will face David A. Beaudet. Both candidates hail from Stillwater.

Commissioner Fran Miron of Hugo, whose District 1 is in northern Washington County, goes up against Ed Eigner of Forest Lake.

Other primaries

This year's election season also features four more primaries of interest to the Woodbury and Afton area.

Two of them will take place in U.S. Congressional District 4, which includes Woodbury. Steve Carlson of St. Paul faces U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, a DFLer from St. Paul. Carlson filed last Tuesday, after the Bulletin's press deadline.

Republican challengers are lining up, as well. There will be a three-way Republican primary for the right to face Carlson or McCollum. Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey of Woodbury and Greg Ryan of Roseville were joined by Gene Rechtzigel of Newport. Rechtzigel filed last Tuesday, after the Bulletin's press deadline.

Maplewood resident Susan Pendergast Sindt of the Legal Marijuana Now candidate filed last Tuesday, after the Bulletin's press deadline, in Congressional District 4.

In the primary election in Minnesota's 2nd Congressional District, Republicans will choose one of the five candidates to enter a three-way race to succeed retiring Republican U.S. Rep. John Kline.

Jason Lewis of Woodbury won the party's endorsement and Darlene Miller of Prior Lake got Kline's backing in March.

Last Tuesday, three candidates filed—Republican John Howe of Red Wing, Minn., Republican Matthew D. Erickson of Cottage Grove, and Paula Overby, an Independence Party candidate from Eagan.

The winner of the primary will face Angie Craig, the presumptive Democratic nominee, and Overby in the November general election.

In Minnesota Senate District 53, Bill Dahn of Landfall filed last Tuesday to face off against Republican-endorsed Sharna Wahlgren of Maplewood, forcing a primary. Dahn filed last Tuesday, after the Bulletin's press deadline.

The winner of the Republican primary will go up against Sen. Susan Kent, DFL- Woodbury.

It will be another sleepy season for judicial elections, in which only incumbents are running for Washington County District Court.

How the other races are shaping up:

• Kelly Fenton and Alberder Gillespie, both of Woodbury, have filed in Minnesota House of Representatives District 53B.

• Andy Turonie of Maplewood and JoAnn Ward of Woodbury has filed in House District 53A.

• In judicial races, Mary Hannon, John C. Hoffman, Tad Jude, John R. McBride and Gary R. Schurrer have filed for re-election in Washington County District Court.

• Diane M. Blake, Thorton Ridder and George C. Weyer, all of Woodbury (District 5), Wendy Griffin of Lake Elmo and John Rheinberger of Stillwater (District 3) and Bob Rosenquist of Hugo (District 1) filed for soil and water conservation district board. There will be no primary for SWCD board.

The filing period for Afton and Woodbury city elections and districts 622 and 834, none of which have primary races, is Aug. 2-16.

On the ballot will be the Afton mayoral seat and two spots on the Afton City Council, as well as two spots on the Woodbury City Council.

School Board seats are on the ballot in District 622 (four seats) and District 834 (three seats) will on the ballot this November. District 833 holds odd-year elections for School Board.

For more information on candidate filing, go to