Weather Forecast


UPDATE: Minnesota House incumbents file for re-election, and 2 more County Board candidates

Today, two Minnesota Legislature incumbents have filed for re-election.

State reps. Kelly Fenton and JoAnn Ward are the only candidates to have filed in the race for their respective Minnesota House of Representatives seats, which are on the ballot every two years.

Ward, DFL-Woodbury, represents District 53A, while Fenton, R-Woodbury, represents District 53B. No one has filed yet for Minnesota Senate District 53, a seat held by state Sen. Susan Kent, DFL-Woodbury. Challengers are expected in all three legislative races.

The filing period for county, state and federal elections is under way, and candidates have begun lining up.

In the Washington County Board of Commissioners race, four seats are on the ballot this fall. Only one County Board seat (Karla Bigham of Cottage Grove, District 4) is not on the ballot this fall.

Today, Joseph T. Delaney and John W. McPhillips, both of Oakdale, filed for a seat representing Washington County Board of Commissioners District 2.

Also added to the field of candidates today: John Rheinberger of Stillwater for soil and water conservation district.

Other races:

• Lisa Weik of Woodbury has filed in Commissioner District 5.

• Gary Kriesel of Stillwater has filed in Commissioner District 3.

• Delaney, Stan Karwoski of Oakdale, McPhillips and Jeremy Olson of Woodbury have filed in Commissioner District 2. Former Commissioner Bill Pulkrabek of Oakdale announced his campaign for the seat, as well.

• Fran Miron of Hugo has filed for a seat in Commissioner District 1.

• No one has filed in the Minnesota Congressional District 2, where the DFL endorsed Angie Craig and the GOP-endorsed Jason Lewis expects to face challengers in a Republican primary.

• In judicial races, John C. Hoffman, Gary R. Schurrer, John R. McBride and Mary Hannon filed for re-election.

• Rheinberger (District 3) and Bob Rosenquist of Hugo (District 1) filed for soil and water conservation district board.

The filing period opened May 17 and runs through 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 31.

The filing period for Afton and Woodbury city elections and districts 622 and 834, none of which have primary races, is Aug. 2-16.

On the ballot will be the Afton mayoral seat and two spots on the Afton City Council, as well as two spots on the Woodbury City Council.

School Board seats are on the ballot in District 622 (four seats) and District 834 (three seats) will on the ballot this November. District 833 holds odd-year elections for School Board.

For more information on candidate filing, go to