Weather Forecast


District 833 incumbents hold seats

Ron Kath, Jim Gelbmann and Leslee Boyd all retained their School Board seats Tuesday.

The three incumbents vying for District 833 School Board cruised to comfortable victories Tuesday night.

School Board members Ron Kath of Cottage Grove, Jim Gelbmann of Woodbury, and Leslee Boyd of Woodbury were the top three vote getters in the seven-way race for three seats.

Kath led all candidates with 2,127 votes. He was followed by Gelbmann, who collected 2,036 votes. Boyd claimed the final seat with 1,964 votes.

They outpaced St. Paul Park's Katie Schwartz (1,501) and Joe Ryan of Woodbury (1,471). Cottage Grove residents Lezlie Schriver and Steve Lagoon drew 852 and 572 votes, respectively.

The winners will serve four-year terms.

Mike Longaecker

Mike Longaecker is the regional public safety reporter for RiverTown Multimedia. His coverage area spans St. Croix and Pierce counties. Longaecker served from 2011-2015 as editor of the Woodbury Bulletin. A University of Wisconsin-River Falls graduate, Longaecker previously reported for the Red Wing Republican Eagle and for the Forum Communications Minnesota Capitol Bureau. You can follow him on Twitter at @Longaecker

(715) 426-1072