Weather Forecast


Student achievements

The following information has been received from university sources.

- The following students from Woodbury have been accepted for admission to the 2010 -11 academic year at Luther College, Decorah, Iowa.

Andrew Bestler received a Presidential Scholarship.

Briana Kirby received an Academic Achievement Award.

- Jenna Lee Metelak of Woodbury has been named to the fall semester 2009 Dean's List at St. Norbert College, De Pere, Wis. A minimum 3.5 grade point average is required for academic eligibility.

- Peter Curran is participating on the 2009 -10 swimming and diving team at Coe College, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He is the son of John and Ann Curran of Afton.

- Area students awarded honors for academics completed in the fall quarter at The Art Institutes International Minnesota, Minneapolis include:

Jaime L. Edgell of Afton, named to the Dean's List for work in the graphic design program; and from Woodbury: Gabrielle M. Nielsen, named to the Dean's List, fashion and retail management; Rebecca R. Fredin, President's List, fashion and retail management; Katie M. Graham, Dean's List, Web design and interactive media; Jer Gao A. Hang, Honor's List, design management; Brittany L. McIntosh, President's List, graphic design; Jodie M. Nelson, Honor's List, design management; Laura C. Reber, Dean's List, web design and interactive media; Nancy J. Slagerman, Dean's List, media arts and animation; and Nicholas M. Wendel, Honor's List, media arts animation.

Students named to the President's List have earned a 4.0 grade point average; Dean's List, a 3.7 to 3.9; Honor's List, a 3.5 to 3.6 gpa.

- John Weigelt of Woodbury was named to the Dean's List at LeTourneau University, Longview, Texas for the fall 2009 semester for having achieved a grade point average between 3.50 and 3.99.

- These Woodbury students have been admitted to Concordia University, St. Paul and were each awarded a financial scholarship:

Matthew Carlson was awarded the President's scholarship for the fall 2010 semester.

Danessa Snustad was awarded the President's scholarship for the fall 2010 semester.

- St. Cloud State University has named the following students from Woodbury to the fall semester Dean's List for having earned a grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale: Robert Scott Brauer, Christopher Thomas Fleck, Lisa Anne Gulli, Dustin James Peterson, Michelle Nicole Spude, Kevin R. Wilde.

- Ralph Schulte has been named to the Dean's List at Fontbonne University, St. Louis, Mo. having earned a grade point average of 3.7 or higher upon completion of the winter 2009 semester. Schulte, of Woodbury, is pursuing a bachelor of arts degree in history.

- The University of Wisconsin, Whitewater has announced that Michelle A. Korotko and Gabriel D. Tomasko, both of Woodbury, were named to the fall 2009 Dean's List for a 3.4 semester grade point average or higher.

- Jacob P. Longhini of Woodbury graduated from Michigan Technological University, Houghton at midyear commencement Dec. 12. Longhini graduated with a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering.

- MegAnn C. Schlader of Woodbury was named to the Dean's List at Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau for academic achievement during the fall 2009 semester. Students named to the list earned a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.