Weather Forecast


District 833 School Board candidate profiles

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
News Woodbury,Minnesota 55125
District 833 School Board candidate profiles
Woodbury Minnesota 8420 City Centre Drive 55125

South Washington County voters will fill a majority of School District 833 School Board seats in the Nov. 5 election.

Five of the board’s seven seats are on the ballot.

Three candidates are running for a two-year seat: Laurie Johnson, Susan Richardson and David Firkus. Firkus has not responded to Bulletin inquiries for election stories.

There are 14 candidates on the ballot to fill four four-year seats: Tracy Brunnette, Michael Edman, Raj Gandhi, John Griffin Jr., Fred Hess, Leilani Holmstadt, Wayne Johnson, David Kemper, Molly Lutz, Katy McElwee-Stevens, Katie Schwartz, Mike Thissen and Sharon Van Leer. Safiyyah Cummings also will be on the ballot for a four-year seat, but she recently said she is not actively campaigning.

The Bulletin asked all candidates about how their experiences have prepared them to serve; whether they support the district’s referendum on the Nov. 5 ballot; what issues led them to run for the board; and if they agree with the district’s move toward personalized learning with the use of iPads and other devices.