Weather Forecast


10 candidates file for 833 school board

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

Woodbury, 55125

Woodbury Minnesota 8420 City Centre Drive 55125

District 833 School Board member Ellen Ayers is not running for a second four-year term, as the deadline for filing for office was 5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 8.


Among the 10 candidates filing for election for four seats on the board, are incumbents Tracy Brunette, of Cottage Grove; Denise Kapler, of Woodbury; and Marsha Adou, of Woodbury.

Katy McElwee-Stevens, Newport, and Alberder Gillespie, of Woodbury, who were appointed to serve out terms for one board member who resigned and the death of another member, are running again. Both ran two years ago but were not elected.

The remaining candidates include retired Park High School Principal Walt Lyszak, of Cottage Grove; David Kemper, of Woodbury; Mike Thissen, of Woodbury; Gina Taft, of Cottage Grove; Laurie Johnson of Woodbury and Edward Nowak, of Woodbury.

The list is unofficial, because candidates have until 5 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 10, to withdraw, according to Mary Amidon, assistant to the superintendent.

Each candidate is seeking a four-year term.